David B COMPSTON b. 1823 died 1863 Washington DC

Today I heard from Tony Dellarocca at culpshill14th@yahoo.com  the genealogist and historian for the 14th NYSM Co.E Living History Association.  He says

 ‘You have a David B. Cumpston listed on your website.  I am absolutely sure this is the David B. Compston from our regiment.  He was a member of the company of Engineers in the regiment.  The engineers were disbanded after the first battle of Bull Run, as there was no authority for an infantry regiment to have a company of engineers.  I have cross checked my records, and am quite sure these two men are one in the same.  I do have the NYS abstract for David B. Compston, and it jives with the info I do have on David B. Cumpston.  David died on February 23, 1863, at Washington DC.  His wife’s name was Ann, and he had one son I know of, Samuel P. born in 1846.  If you have any other info I would appreciate if you would send it along’

I have an entry for David at
http://www.cumpston.org.uk/#/usa-civil-war/4535509587 on the American Civil War.  I have added additional data from my files on David and have started a new page for him http://www.cumpston.org.uk/#/david-b-compston-d-1863-washin/4552324658 

It is great when people take a tiny bit of data from my 400 pages and take the time to make contact.  Thanks Tony!

Does anyone recognise this family?  Please let me know if you have further information.

About mallerstang

Member of the Guild of One Name Studies researching the name CUMPSTON and its variants. You can see my website at www.cumpston.org.uk I have a new study of the name LAXEN with its own blog at https://laxenresearch.wordpress.com/ and a further research blog which is not registered as a one name study of KNAGGS of Flamborough https://knaggsresearch.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Cumpston people and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

